LEFTOVER SOUP

It’s not the soup that is leftover, you understand, but rather some ingredients.  I couldn’t think of a way to say that in a title of reasonable length.  A title should give a hint, not give away the whole story.  If you breathe more than twice while reading it (and this goes for names and descriptions of menu items as well, but that is a rant for another day), it’s entirely too long.

So I recently made a Something Old, Something New Burrito (one breath, I hope?).  As I mention often, it takes as long to make a double amount of something, well most things anyway, as it does to make a single batch.  Rice.  Beans.  Two foods whose values and virtues cannot be sung loud enough.  I love them.  Love, love, love them.  Rice can go into a salad, a soup, Meatless Mondays “Meatball” Soup).   And beans!  The perfect food.  Low in cholesterol, as in none, high in fiber, in protein, in just overall goodness.  Put the two together, and you have not only protein, but complete protein.

Tonight we are due to have howling winds.  Now there’s breaking news.  Montana + winter = wind, and lots of it.  My house is surrounded front, side, and back with mature (very mature) trees.  This winter’s mantra has been:  Thank God I had the trees trimmed! I am not exaggerating:  minutes before the first storm hit, the tree-trimmer was hauling away the detritus of two solid days’ work.  He left some of the big pieces for me to burn in the fireplace.  Which is what I intend to do tonight.

I’m using the leftover Cilantro-Lime Rice and Spicy Beans from the Burrito, along with some vegetable stock I made last weekend.  I’ll be posting a discussion of it this weekend.  Quantities are vague because leftovers are, well, leftovers.  I also pulled some chicken meat from the freezer to cut up and add once it’s thawed (leftover fish would be good, too).  I trust you have a fairly good idea of how much of what will produce a nourishing soup for you any anyone else who needs some.

Serves 2, with leftovers

Vegetable stock – 1 quart

Leftover rice – I have about 2 cups

Leftover beans – I have about 1 cup

Chicken meat – about 2 cups

Green chiles, 7 ounce can, drained, or 2 or 3 dried japones chiles, chopped

Sea or kosher salt and pepper

Cholula, or your favorite hot sauce

1/2 avocado, sliced

Cotija cheese, crumbled

Chopped, fresh cilantro

Wedges of lime

  1. Pour the vegetable stock (or chicken) into a saucepan.  Add the rice, beans, chicken, and chiles.  Warm over medium heat, covered, until heated through.  Season to taste with salt, pepper, and Cholula.
  2. Ladle into soup bowls.  Garnish with avocado slices and Cotija cheese.  It doesn’t melt completely, and so lends an interesting, tender texture and bit of a salty punch.  Finish with some chopped cilantro and serve with a wedge of lime.
  3. I’m having mine with Scallion-Corn Muffins.

Yes, that's painter's tape in the background. One day the wainscoting will be barn red.

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Entrées, Meats, RECIPES, Soups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LEFTOVER SOUP

  1. Lane Arnold says:

    This post reminds me of the children’s story: Stone Soup…everybody threw in a little something and it turned into something simply delectable!

  2. Pat says:

    I love leftover soup and tonight we’re actually having one with a little leftover bacon, a small wedge of cabbage, leftover beans, a few other veggies and turkey stock that i made from one of those fried turkeys from Thanksgiving! Yours looks and sounds heavenly!!

Leave a Reply

