HOW I SPENT MY SATURDAY NIGHT

A good, good friend was craving pizza.  She was in the right place at the right time.  I had a batch of dough waiting to be stretched and patted and topped and baked.

Before

We topped it with wonderful Italian tuna packed in olive oil, some anchovies, Roma tomatoes, goat cheese, and basil.

While it was baking, we opened a breathtaking bottle of wine:  a Casa Lapostolle Merlot, 2006, estate bottled in Chile’s Rappel Valley.  I know, breathtaking and Merlot don’t often cohabitate.    The vintner is Alexandra Marnier Lapostolle.  As the great-granddaughter of the creator of Grand Marnier, she comes by her skills honestly.  Its  smoky, oaky notes derive from being aged in small French oak barrels.  And those are merely the first flavors you’ll notice.  Its complexity of fruit and spice are, well, breathtaking.  I would highly recommend tracking it down.  Especially wonderful with a friend and a pizza on a windy Saturday night.

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Breads & Pizzas, Entrées, RECIPES, STORIES and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HOW I SPENT MY SATURDAY NIGHT

  1. Looks fantastic, sounds like you and your friend had a wonderful time and I am going to see if I can find that wine. Must try it!

  2. Oh, Suzanne, it was amazing, and the crowning touch to the evening.

  3. The Wimpy Vegetarian says:

    Shared conversation with a close friend over a great bottle of wine and homemade pizza? Sounds like the perfect way to spend Saturday night to me.

  4. lapadia says:

    Hi there!! Nice post, nice Saturday night pizza. Ever since reading it I was inspired to make pizza, straight from my peel to the stone, kind. I followed your cake dough recipe = a marvelous dough, anyway you look at it. Long ago, I used a portion cake flour (after reading about it) and I am so glad I revisited using it again!! Thanks.

    • Oh, so glad to know that your original notion of incorporating some cake flour was validated. I’m trying to vector in on a good balance of our flours vs. European 00 flours. So far I’ve gotten as far as using 30% cake flour, which is much more finely milled than our AP flour. I very much value your opinion and trial results!

Leave a Reply

