SUPER BOWL SUNDAY: BREAKFAST PARFAIT

Let me explain:  I’m not a actually referring to That Which Shall Not be Named, except of course by those who are allowed make money by selling the right to use it for advertising purposes.  Or something like that.  I am simply using a couple of common words as adjectives for the day of the week which today just happens to be.  And since they appear in a title, rules of grammar dictate that they be capitalized.

It’s a beautiful day in Montana.  Come evening, I marvel at the fact

Basil has relegated his mother, Parsley, to a warm spot on the floor

that  as I start dinner, the sun sinks off to the west past 6:00 now.  And the morning sun is striking the kitchen earlier each day, much to the satisfaction of the cats.

Bubbly biga for ciabatta

It’s going to be a day of some serious baking, cooking, and eating.  I’m trying out a new recipe for Ciabatta, that miraculous Italian sort-of-flatbread.  And I have an idea for what I want to call a French Onion Sandwich to make with it.

Ciabatta fresh out of the oven - recipe on Monday

A miracle occurred: I remembered to soak the black-eyed peas overnight

While all that is going on, I need to start a pot of Bison Chili for dinner while watching a football game.  I trust you know which football game.

So breakfast needed to be something light.  I guess I’ll be making yogurt today as well, since I used every last drop to make this parfait.

I layered Greek-style yogurt with suprêmed orange sections and some lemon curd, and stacked them up in a beautiful glass my sister gave me for Christmas.  Each bite was bright with sweet-tart-creamy touches all at the same time.  The perfect start to a day of riches.  Enjoy your day, however you choose to celebrate it.

Basil, resting up for a big night of more sleeping

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SUPER BOWL SUNDAY: BREAKFAST PARFAIT

  1. vkhanson says:

    That parfait looks/sounds amazing……and I may have to give a go at yogurt with a mason jar….

  2. It honestly works as well as any machine.

Leave a Reply

