SUNDAY BAKING: BROWNIES ESPAÑOL

Brownies español

Sunday has baking written all over it.  It makes the house smell great.  It has a nesting element to it.  It’s right up there with making soup.  It doesn’t even require changing out of pajamas, the luxury of staying in which on a Sunday cannot be overstated.

There was a rumor of snow for today.  I had visions of an afternoon of basketball and brownies dancing in my head.  I’m curious to know where that forecast came from.  It’s 53 degrees outside, and while I can see some high, thin clouds, I’d say that their chance of producing snow is close to zero.  Oh well, brownies go with any weather.

Not that I can eat them.  I’m sensitive to the theobromine in chocolate.  It’s the compound that makes chocolate so dangerous for dogs.  They metabolize it very slowly.  Clearly, I’m part canine.  But I have a neighbor to whom I owe thanks for a favor, and I’ve not known anyone who isn’t happy to see a plate of tender, deeply chocolate brownies.

I took these in a different direction from the recipe I posted earlier.  Spice and chocolate are as hot as Jeremy Lin these days.  I wanted to put a Spanish spin on them, so I combined orange and hot Spanish paprika, along with more salt than I would typically use.  I’m glad to say I survived small tastes of the batter until I was happy with the flavor profile.  Now, let’s see what Jason and Nancy think.

8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

3 ounces unsweetened chocolate

6 ounces unsalted butter

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 3/4 cups sugar

6 eggs

zest of 1 orange

2 teaspoons hot paprika

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon sea or kosher salt

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Set a heat-proof bowl over a couple of inches of simmering water.  Break or chop the chocolates into medium-sized pieces and add them to the bowl.  Cut the butter into 1” cubes and add to the bowl.  Sift the cocoa powder over the top of the chocolates and butter.  Allow to melt completely, then stir to blend.
  3. While chocolates and butter are melting, whisk together the sugar and eggs in a mixing bowl.  Add the orange zest and hot paprika.
  4. When chocolate mixture has melted completely, temper it into the egg mixture by pouring in a slow, steady stream, while whisking continuously.
  5. Sift the flour and salt onto a sheet of parchment, then tip it into the mixing bowl.  Mix thoroughly with a spatula.
  6. Set a 9”x9” baking pan on the parchment and trace the outline of its bottom.  Cut inside the lines, then set the square in the pan.  Brush sides with soft butter, or spray with pan spray.  Pour in brownie mixture and level it with you spatula.
  7. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes.  Brownies are done when you can tap the center and they feel soft, but not liquidy.
  8. Remove from oven and cool before cutting.
  9. If you want to really jazz them up, top with a splop of unsweetened whipped cream dusted with a pinch of cocoa powder.
About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Desserts, RECIPES and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SUNDAY BAKING: BROWNIES ESPAÑOL

Leave a Reply

