SOUP FOR HEIDI

Not long ago I was lucky to have gotten back in contact with a good friend from my days in San Francisco during culinary school.  Heidi is her name.  She commented on the Tropical Quick Bread that, while it sounded good, she’s on a cleanse right now and can’t eat just about everything I’ve posted lately.  She had caught on to the sunchoke challenge I’m facing and mentioned that she has a recipe for a soup with cauliflower and sunchokes. As luck would have it, I’d been thinking soup, too.

The idea wheels began to spin.  I’d love to come up with something she can eat that is both within her regime and has abundant flavor as well.  Food should always be good, never a deprivation.

I’m thinking a vegetable stock base (which we’ll talk about this weekend – I know, I’ve said that before, but this time I mean it); cauliflower, of which I just happen to have half a head; maybe a sweet potato because they’re just so good for us; and of course those sunchokes.  Perhaps some southwestern flavors.  Give me time to get home and get to work on this.

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in STORIES. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SOUP FOR HEIDI

  1. Pat says:

    This sounds intriguing…can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. Heidi says:

    Here is my soup, but it is not on the approved list right now. It is from my veggie box insert.
    I added a little more spice at the start cuz I like it spicy.
    Sunchoke & Cauliflower Soup
    This is a nice cool weather soup. If you’d like to see a garnish
    on this soup, a type of green sprout would work well. Use your
    favorite nutty or spicy sprout to top each bowl.
    2 T butter
    1 celery stalk, chopped
    1 small onion, chopped
    2 c chicken stock
    ¾ c half and half
    1 small cauliflower, cut into florets
    1 lb sunchokes, peeled and cut into small chunks
    2 sprigs thyme
    Melt the butter in a saucepan and add the celery and onion.
    Sauté over medium heat until just softened, about 7 minutes or
    so, then add the stock and cream. Stir well and allow to
    simmer. Add the cauliflower, sunchokes, and sprigs of thyme
    and simmer over low heat until very tender, about 30 minutes.
    Remove the thyme sprigs, season with a little salt and allow to
    cool somewhat. Puree in a blender until very smooth and taste
    for seasoning. Serve warm.

  3. Cleansing drink I make is beet, carrot, green apple and ginger could there be a soup with this combination.

  4. ldpw says:

    I remember Heidi! And can I just say that I think it’s great that you find a way to accomidate everyone with your blog. People on cleanses, people who can’t really even cook to begin with (me), vegetarians, carnivores, omnivores, sweets lovers, ev-a-ree-one. Go you!

    • I was hoping you would remember her. I am so happy to be back in touch with her. I mainly just want food, including its preparation, to pleasurable for everyone, in whatever form they need it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

