SANDWICH SATURDAY: EAT THIS SANDWICH

I had an intensely wonderful catering job last night, so I was a bit slow off the mark this morning.  The breakfast flag was no longer flying, and lunch hour was just coming into view.  Incidentally, lunch on weekends can mean anything between 1 and 3 p.m., just so you know.  And brunch is far too fancy a term for one thing on one plate.  I’d been thinking about last night’s party long enough that I’d pretty much neglected my own larder.  I always have eggs on hand, and a brand new bag of avocados was ripening.  Tomatoes, check.  Tortillas? Yes.  It would be an Egg, Avocado, & Tomato Tortilla Sandwich.  Yes, I just invented the burrito, but work with me, please.

A note about the tortilla.  I could eat breads and pastas several times a day every day.  But I can’t do that any more, regardless of how many miles I ride or how many pounds of weights I press.  Age is a, well you know what it is.  I’m courting BlogHer, you see, so I have to mind my ps and qs.  At any rate, let me assure you that I’m not going anywhere near no carbs ever for the rest of your (miserable) life.   Because I’d be miserable. Never bake ciabatta again?  Goodbye to Rustic Italian Bread?  Never return to Florence for fear I’d crave First Night in Florence Spaghetti because I’d be banned from making it at home?  So not gonna happen.  But I do try to budget them throughout the day.  If I know I’m making something for dinner that I’ll want to mop up with some great bread, I’ll have a big salad for lunch.  I always have whole-grain tortillas on hand in which to roll up something good.  Am I depriving myself?  No.  Food should never, ever be viewed as a punishment.  I’m making myself happy in different ways.

1 whole-grain tortilla, burrito size

1/2 avocado, mashed

Hot sauce of choice; I like Cholula

Juice of 1/2 lime or Meyer lemon

Salt and pepper

1/2 tomato, diced

1″ piece cotija cheese, diced or crumbled

Some scallions or red onion, 1/4″ dice

2 eggs

Olive oil

  1. Use 1 medium-sized cutting board to prep everything.  Mash the avocado and season it to taste with the hot sauce, lime or Meyer lemon (sweeter, with less bite than a conventional lemon), and salt and pepper.  Be aware that Cotija cheese tends to be salty, so season gently with the salt.  Dice the tomato half and either crumble or dice the cheese – it’s too crumbly to grate well.
  2. Dampen a couple of paper towels and set them in a microwave.  Lay the tortilla on top of them.  They’ll prevent it from drying out when you heat it.
  3. Film the bottom of a small skillet with olive oil.  Read this about how to gently and tenderly scramble eggs.  Seriously.  Stop right now and read it.  http://www.food52.com/recipes/11848_use_the_good_china_eggs_homage_to_richard_olney
  4. Scramble your eggs accordingly.  When they are a minute from being done, nuke the tortilla for 30 seconds.  Remove it to a plate, spread the avocado down the center, followed by the tomatoes.  Transfer those lovely, glistening eggs to top the tomatoes, and finish with the cheese and onions for a satisfying crunch.
  5. Roll it up and eat it.

Enjoy your Saturday.

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Entrées, RECIPES, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to SANDWICH SATURDAY: EAT THIS SANDWICH

  1. emmycooks says:

    That is pretty much my favorite meal right there. My avocados need another day, however, so I’ll have to settle for fish tacos. You won’t mind if I call this sandwich a breakfast burrito tomorrow, will you?

  2. Pretty much my favorite flavor combo here, I love a wrap breakfast (or any time of day) sandwich. Got the cholula yesterday.

  3. bellegroveatportconway says:

    This look so good! Great idea to add to my future bed and breakfast menu! Thanks for the great post!

  4. ldpw says:

    This is my favorite combination, and I love that it can still be a sandwich. What a great title too, honestly.

  5. lapadia says:

    Oh ya, I “hear” you about eating breads & pasta several times throughout the week, and your tortilla sandwich is a lovely trade off! Here’s to Sandwich Saturday 🙂

Leave a Reply

