MANGO & BLACK BEAN SALAD

Mangos are known as the “king of fruits,” and rightly so. High in vitamin A and antioxidants, they also pack a decent dose of fiber. Combine them with beans and their perfection grows. Combine them with black beans in particular, and the natural beauty of the fruit positively glistens. Add some avocado for creamy tenderness, tomatillos for tartness and red onion for colorful crunch.  Serve this salad by itself, or as a salsa dip with vegetables like sticks of jicama. Add spoonfuls to some shredded red cabbage and wrap it all up in a whole grain tortilla for a lovely lunch.

My friend, Vegetable Woman, with whom I share a Bountiful Baskets order, kindly invited me to Easter dinner with her sweet parents.  None of us is ham people, so her mother roasted a heavenly turkey instead.  She asked if I’d bring something tart that could function as a riff on cranberry sauce without being cranberry sauce.  Tart-sweet-colorful, in other words.  Especially colorful.  We’re celebrating Easter, after all.  This is what I came up with.  We ate until we could eat not one more bite, but somehow managed to find room for the family’s traditional Sour Cream-Lemon Pie.  I’m on a mission to gain access to the recipe.  In the meantime, this is the best I can offer.

MANGO & BLACK BEAN SALAD

Serves 4 to 6

  • 2 mangos, peeled, fruit removed, 1/2″ dice
  • 15 ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 medium avocado, 1/2 ” dice
  • 2 medium or 3 small tomatillos, 1/2″ dice
  • 1/2 red onion, 1/4″ dice
  • Zest and juice of 1 lime
  • 1 teaspoon sea or kosher salt
  • Grinds of black pepper
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves and stems, roughly chopped
  • Cholula, or your favorite hot sauce, to taste
  • Chopped cilantro for garnish
  1. Combine mangos, black beans, avocado, tomatillos, and red onion in a salad bowl. Toss gently to blend.
  2. Add lime zest and juice,salt, pepper, olive oil, and cilantro leaves in a blender, food processor, or mini-chop. Process to blend. Season to taste with hot sauce. Adjust other seasonings as necessary. Pour dressing over salad ingredients and toss to blend. Let salad sit for 15 minutes to allow flavors to blend. Taste again and adjust seasonings if needed.
  3. Serve on chilled plates. Garnish with chopped cilantro.
About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, Hors d'oeuvres, RECIPES, Salads, Sandwiches, Vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MANGO & BLACK BEAN SALAD

  1. So fresh and full of super foods! Looks delish. 🙂

  2. The perfect addition to the meal, sounds heavenly! Happy Easter.

    • Oh Suzanne, roll it up in a tortilla with some cabbage. Heavenly! I hope you and your family had a wonderful day.

      • Well, it was me and the pugs, no family they were away all day. Baked, walked the dogs, rested a bit. Good day, sounds like you had a wonderful day. Yes, I was going to say this would be amazing in pita or wrapped in a tortilla. Love it.

      • It was a pretty quietly welcome day here, too. The son had to work all day, but he and the divine Miss M’s parents leave on a road trip on Thurs. They’ll be at a Giants game in SF over the weekend. The daughter danced all day, which was wonderful on the heels of her birthday yesterday. Pita, oh yes. I took the dogs for a long run this afternoon. We’re all happy and looking forward to sleeping well. I wish you all (including Justin) the same. I’ll be posting summer baking plans this week.

  3. ldpw says:

    You know, I really don’t like mangos for some reason, but whenever I’ve tried them in a salsa you’ve made or a salad or whatever, the dish just wouldn’t be the same or as good without them. And everything just looks so beautiful when you add magos to it. Your spring/early summer dishes are always my favorite. It’s such an exciting season to cook for, I think.

  4. Hannah says:

    I am mad for mangoes – when we were in Australia this past winter I’m embarrassed to admit how many I ate on my own. I love every ingredient in your salad! It must have been perfect with the turkey! I wish you success in getting the pie recipe…sounds lovely.

    • Thank you, Hannah. When I’m able to wrangle the recipe, I promise to post it. I’m always glad to find another mango fiend. I’ll put them in nearly anything I can tie down.

Leave a Reply

