FUDGSICLES ALL GROWN UP

When the son and the daughter were little, I remember having never-ending batches of juice frozen into popsicles in the freezer.  It was a way of keeping good stuff going into them while keeping costs down.  Most of all, though, I remember loving saying, “Yes!” when they and their friends wanted a popsicle.  We had multiple sets of the plastic forms with their various handles so that as soon as one would empty, I could refill and re-freeze it immediately.  As they grew up and moved on, I stored all the sets away, thinking I’d find a use for them again at some point.  I still have the set with Mickey Mouse’s face imprinted into it.

Well, the point is now.  It was 102 in the shade (isn’t that the title of a book?) a few days ago.  I can’t get enough of cold anything on these long, hot days.  Beverages, ice creams and sorbets, and some brand new popsicles.  Though I’m allergic to chocolate, the idea of a fudgsicle wouldn’t leave me alone.  I experimented with a few different ratios and ingredients before I found one that was just right in terms of consistency (not too soft, not too firm), color (deep, rich, dark), and flavor.  Remember Ice Cubes, those chocolate squares with so much mint that they tasted “cold?”  I was aiming in that direction, with a bit of a sophisticated twist at the same time.

The kind neighbors who tasted them for me said Goldilocks would love them.  They were juuuuuuust right.

4 ounces water

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup loosely piled mint leaves

3 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

1 ounce unsweetened chocolate

1 ounce Crème de Cacao

  1. Measure water and sugar into a saucepan.  Stir, and bring to a boil.
  2. While sugar mixture is heating, wash the mint leaves and pat them dry on a towel.  mound them in the center of a couple of paper towels, wrap them up, and roll them back and forth between your palms several times to bruise them.  When sugar mixture comes to a boil, remove from heat and stir in the mint leaves.  Cover the pan, and let steep for 20 minutes.
  3. Chop chocolates into small pieces of relatively the same size.  Place them in a mixing bowl.  When mint is finished steeping, hold a strainer over the bowl containing the chocolates, and pour the sugar solution through it.  Discard the mint leaves.
  4. Whisk the chocolate mixture until all pieces have melted completely, then whisk in the Crème de Cacao.
  5. Place the bowl over an ice water bath.  Stir occasionally with a spatula until thickened and very cool.
  6. Divide among the popsicle molds, insert the stems, and freeze.  Depending on how cold your freezer is, the fudgesicles  should be ready to cool you off in about 2-3 hours, though letting them freeze overnight will give you the best results.
About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Desserts, Gluten-free, RECIPES, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FUDGSICLES ALL GROWN UP

  1. Bevi says:

    These ARE all grown up. I now have to buy molds, since I threw out my set after the kids left the nest. Big mistake!

  2. I need molds too, I heard you can use paper cups as molds but I guess you could not put the stick in until it’s partially frozen. These sound amazing!

  3. Love the mint + chocolate combo! I have a plant on the back porch that needs to be put to use for something other than tea. Great idea.

  4. ldpw says:

    These really are all grown up fudgsicles but I would still prefer to have them in the Mickey Mouse molds.

Leave a Reply

