GETTING READY FOR A WEDDING

 

 

 

DSCN2555

While the second round of cakes was in the oven this morning (I baked a first batch yesterday afternoon), I stepped out into the back yard with some coffee and a book.  I moved a chair into the shade, and glanced up to see a tree spirit keeping an eye on me.

After they woke to a house headily scented with vanilla, the son and the fiancée went off to a family softball game.  Her mother has done a wonderful job of organizing activities all week so as to keep out-of-town guests entertained.  Tomorrow is Lake Tahoe day.  Friday is the rehearsal dinner.  And Saturday is the wedding day!

The daughter arrives late tonight, and our small family will be complete.  After she gets some much needed rest, the two of us are going to start making batch after batch of swiss meringue buttercream icing so that we can get the cake tiers individually decorated and ready to be refrigerated so as to set up completely before Saturday morning.  A friend of the son has kindly loaned us a second Kitchen Aid mixer so that we can make two batches of icing at a time.  Let me amend that:  so that the daughter can make two batches at a time.  When she was eleven years old and I had my restaurant, I taught her to make Swiss meringue buttercream.  Some might consider that a form of child abuse; I thought of it as increasing the productivity of the kitchen.

So once again, we’ll increase the productivity of a kitchen.  While the tree spirit watches over us, the daughter will plop chunks of soft butter into bowls of whirling meringue as I mortar together layers of sweet cake that will be cut and served in celebration of the marriage of two magnificent young people.

DSCN2558

Cooling cakes

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in RECIPES, STORIES and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to GETTING READY FOR A WEDDING

  1. Kathleen Whittenberger says:

    Wish I could be there, have an amazing time.

  2. Bevi says:

    Well Those cakes look gorgeous. I think knowing how to make a good buttercream icing from an early age is integral to a complete skills set.

  3. Heidi says:

    I hope you are keeping it tasty but simple so you can enjoy yourself! I learned a lesson with my nephew’s wedding cake.

    • I’m loving every minute of it. We’ll have it completely done tomorrow, then finish assembly on Saturday. I’m decorating it with flowers from her mother’s gardens.

  4. I am in awe of all the baking skills you guys have. Cynthia it must be giving you deep contentment to be making this centerpiece creation. So much love going into it.

  5. Diana B says:

    Congratulations on being about to gain another daughter and how lucky the young people are to be getting a wedding cake made with pure love!

  6. That cake will be heavenly and I love that you had the daughter making buttercream at an early age. I did the same with mine. What a glorious time for your whole family I couldn’t be happier for you all.

  7. Barbara says:

    Congratulations, Cynthia. I hope that you and yours have an amazing weekend. XO

  8. Emily says:

    oh how lovely! i know you will have a magical week!

  9. Oh, how exciting!!! I so wish we could connect, especially since I’m here in Tahoe now. But I know well that it’s impossible at a time like this. So I’m just sending you and your family all my best wishes for a long, happy marriage. I’m so happy for you 🙂

  10. Hannah says:

    Congratulations! What a beautiful, happy occasion to gather together. I’m delighted for you and your family! 🙂

Leave a Reply

