FIFTY SHADES OF A SUMMER MORNING

DSCN2976

Dear butter, we’re taking a break.  I love you, just not in summer.  You’re either too soft or too hard.  Or too much.

Give me olive oil instead.  Always just right.  Neither too obvious,DSCN2960 nor too subtle.  Happy to slip into one thing or another.

For breakfast this morning, I was craving a poached egg.  Over toast.  Just not buttered toast.  No.  Not on a morning when it was 70 degrees at seven a.m.

So while the bread was toasting and water heating for the egg, I poured about a tablespoon of olive oil onto a plate, then rolled the plate around in my hands to distribute it sort of evenly.  I sprinkled it with a dash of sea salt.

DSCN2963I palmed an almost embarrassingly tumescent tomato, then cut a couple of slices from it.  When the toast was toasted, I set it in the olive oil, kissed it with a bit more olive oil, and draped the tomatoes over it.  Their juices dripped into the toast while water continued heating.

The water came to a gentle simmer.  I added a pinch of sea salt* and slipped the egg into it.  It cooked for just a couple of minutes, really just long enough to tenderly set the white and the membrane over the yolk.

A slotted spoon lifted the egg out of the water, let it drain for a few seconds, then eased it onto the tomatoes.  Who doesn’t have a bounty of basil these days?  I ribboned some leaves into a chiffonade**, a dash of sea salt went over the top, and some fresh cracks of pepper followed.

DSCN2979

Seven-fifteen, and I’d already expended all the effort and experienced all the heat I intended for the day.  Who says perfection doesn’t exist?

Note to self:  Find some shade.  Sit still.  Read a good book.

Butter, I’ll see you in October.

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Pantry Dinners, RECIPES, STORIES, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to FIFTY SHADES OF A SUMMER MORNING

  1. I can think of few things better than this. What a delicious way to start the day. Tomato, eggs, good bread and olive oil now thats a “breakfast of champions”.

  2. Thank you to Suzanne..apuginthekitchen…for leading me to your beautiful blog. Your roasted fig post, as well as this impressive breakfast toast is a showstopper.

  3. Beth F says:

    I am so with you on the butter, especially in summer. Love your perfect late summer breakfast.

  4. Michelle says:

    Oh, delicious! Your description makes it even more so…

  5. Sublime. Both the dish and your description of it. I’ll join you in the shade with my book if I can have a bite of this 🙂

  6. em-i-lis says:

    What a STUNNING photo that last one is. Wow! And the rosemary shortbread sounds wonderful too! Aah! Lastly, I’m as in love with well-prepared figs as are you! Smooches!

Leave a Reply

