WEEKEND INDULGENCE: FIGGY FRENCH TOAST

No. I’m not going to presume to teach you to make French toast.  But I do want to show you a way to gild the lily.

DSCN2991

 Figs are involved.

 

 

Weekend. Just the very word bespeaks time.  Time spent differently than on any other morning.  Time for an extra cup of coffee.  Time to sit in bed with it and read a book.  Time to stay in pajamas until noon.  Or later.

Time to make breakfast.  Make. Breakfast.  Every other day of the week it’s pretty perfunctory: throw some yogurt and fruit in the blender, gulp it down, hit the road. A weekend calls for indulgence.

Inspiration struck in the form of my sweet friend, Suzanne, who writes the blog A Pug in the Kitchen in homage to the two pugs in her life.  She recently wrote a post about David Lebovitz’s Roasted Figs which she served over Whipped Goat Cheese and Mascarpone.  I couldn’t get it out of my mind.

I had the remains of a loaf of ciabatta. It doesn’t have a long shelf, so to speak, life, and it’s wonderful for French toast.

DSCN3012

All its nooks and crannies soak up eggs to the point that it turns custardy on the inside as its outsides fry to a golden brown.  Suddenly I had a landing spot for Suzanne’s creation.  While I found myself out of mascarpone, I always have goat cheese on hand.  So I simply skipped the mascarpone part of her recipe and proceeded with the rest.

Except I also skipped the mixer part and after I’d poured the figgy syrup out of a container of the beauties, just worked it into about a one-inch piece of goat cheese with a fork.

DSCN3013

When my French toast was golden brown, I slid it onto a plate and in lieu of butter (because I’ve broken up with butter until the August heat abates until approximately October), spread the slices with the tender, sweetened goat cheese.

DSCN3016

Then I broke up the figs and draped them over the top.

DSCN3026

I may never be able to go back to maple syrup.

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Condiments, RECIPES and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to WEEKEND INDULGENCE: FIGGY FRENCH TOAST

  1. Beth F says:

    Roasted figs??? I love David Lebovitz but somehow missed this. Your version looks amazing.

  2. A wonderful weekend indulgence!! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Oh delicious, I could eat that every day. I love goat cheese and figs. Bought some more figs today making another batch, I can’t get enough!!

  4. This looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

  5. You, David and Suzanne have changed the way I will enjoy figs at the end of this coming summer. You continue to torture me. That breakfast looks phenomenal. I have canvassed all my friends in Canberra and 3 have confirmed that they have large fig trees in their gardens which are prolific producers of fruit. Roll on summer! Actually, today is the first day of spring – 1 September. It is going to be a very warm sunny still spring day. It is also Father’s Day here.

    • I had a friend in CA who couldn’t give away all that her tree bore, so I suspect you’ll be neck deep in figs, and luckily so. I am highly envious. And how sweet to know that spring is advancing on you.

  6. Just gathered all I need to make Suzanne’s creation and saw this today. Looks like I need more figs now. Sounds perfect to use goat’s cheese on french toast instead of butter and love the idea ciabatta too!

  7. joyweesemoll says:

    What a beautiful breakfast! I wish I was at your house this morning.

  8. Cecelia says:

    Oh dear lord, that looks delicious. I may have breakfast for dinner (and steal your genius idea!) this week! Figs… mmmmm!

  9. Kerry Ann says:

    Yum. Just. . .yum. Need to try this.

  10. JoAnn, I adore French toast – it’s one of my favourite things to eat, any time of day. But topped off with goats cheese and roasted figs sounds sublime. Now I’m wishing that I could turn the clock back a day so that I didn’t have to go to work this morning.

Leave a Reply

