MANGO KETCHUP

I love ketchup.  I mean, I really love it.  I have no idea if this changes how you see me, but there it is.   I especially love Rainy Saturday Ketchup for its complex range of flavors: tart, sweet-ish, spicy, umami-deep.  I also love mangos, and they’re abundantly everywhere these days.  And I love spicy flavors.  Playing around with a fruity-spicy version of ketchup has been on the mental list for a while, and there’s a bison burger thawing for dinner that has this written all over it.

  • 15 ounce can organic tomato sauce
  • 1 large deeply red mango, peeled, flesh removed, roughly chopped (or 2 small)
  • 1/4 cup Thai-style spicy sweet chili sauce*
  • Juice of 1 big lime, or two small
  • 2 large cloves garlic, roughly chopped, or 3-4 small
  • 2 teaspoons sea or kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Place all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor or in a blender. Purée until completely smooth. Taste for seasoning. The spiciness should definitely be there, as well as the sweet-tart balance among the mango, tomato, and lime. You should get an umami finish from the garlic and spices.  And, oh, the color!  You should fall in love.

* A note about the Thai-style spicy sweet chili sauce. Roland makes a good one. If you can’t find that, Mae Ploy will do as Plan B. Be aware, though, that it is on the sweet side, so be prepared to add 1/2 teaspoon or so of chili powder to compensate.

About thesolitarycook

I'm a chef, a cook, a teacher, a reader, a writer, a bike-rider, a dog- and cat-woman
This entry was posted in Condiments, Gluten-free, RECIPES, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MANGO KETCHUP

  1. Brilliant, making this because I will also raise my hand and say I love ketchup also!

  2. trialsinfood says:

    interesting! i love the idea of mangoes and spice.

  3. YUM. I’m on a massive mango kick at the moment.

  4. Bevi says:

    I am making this. End of story.

  5. PatO says:

    Now, I have been a ketchup hater until recently when I was at a local organic restaurant and tried their ketchup (I am not sure what drove me to do that!). I promptly fell in love. I ate every one of the fries on my plate just so I could eat more ketchup. They told me what went into it but since I didn’t write it down, I forgot. I have been meaning to go back for more kethup – and to write the ingredients down – but now I may not have to. I love the idea of mango in it.

Leave a comment